MrFlint.com

The online companion to your favorite class.

 Monday, December 4

 

  • Introduction to work and energy
  • Forms of energy
  • The units calorie, Calorie and joule
  • Intro. to Discovery Ride project - route, elevation profile, speed profile graphs.

 

Tuesday, December 5

 

  • DiscoveryRide energy worksheet
  • Bomb calorimeters and determining chemical potential energy
  • Gravitational potential energy - its symbol and units
  • Definition of work and the work-energy theorem
  • Dimensional analysis of work and potential energy

 

Wednesday, December 6 - no class due to top hat pride assembl

 

Thursday, December 7

 

  • Work as a vector - force must be perpendicular to a distance OR work transforms energy
  • Kinetic energy - emphasis on the square in the velocity
  • Power and its units
  • Work-energy theorem
  • Intro. to Power Lab

 

Friday, December 7

 

  • P. 151; 1-6 due - go over problems together on the board
  • Intro. to Power Lab - skipping steps, handrail use, medical conditions, correct timing method, distance measurement

 

Monday, December 10

 

  • Conduct Power Lab
  • Work on problems

 

Tuesday, December 11

 

  • Energy transformations - a 1200 kg car moving at 25 m/s comes to rest in 75 m. What force acts on the car?
  • Efficiency - you use 510 J of energy to climb some stairs where your potential energy is 450 J. Determine the efficiency.
  • Hand out AP Problem set 5-1

 

Wednesday, December 12

 

  • P. 151, 9-14 due
  • Go over problems together
  • Springs and Hooke's law

 

Thursday, December 13

 

  • Spring potential energy. Head's up about problem 22
  • Intro. to Conservation of Energy Lab

 

Friday, December 14

 

  • AP Problem set 5-1 due
  • Conservation of Energy Lab

 

Monday, December 17

 

  • P. 151; 19, 21-25 due
  • Go over problems together in class

 

Tuesday, December 18

 

  • P. 152; 26-31 due
  • Go over problems together in class

 

Wednesday, December 19

 

  • P. 154, 48-53 due
  • Go over problems together

 

Thursday, December 20

 

  • Conservation of Energy Lab due
  • Work on problems in class

 

Friday, December 21

 

  • Work on problems in class

 

Tuesday, January 2

 

  • AP Problem set 5-2 Due
  • Go over problems together in class

 

Wednesday, January 3

 

  • P. 154; 55-57, 59, 62 due
  • Go over problems together in class

 

Thursday, January 4

 

  • Chapter 5 Review Due
  • Go over problems together in class

 

Friday, January 5

 

  • Chapter 5 Test

 

 

AP Physics I - Chapter 5

Work and Energy

Unit Outline with Standards

This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.