MrFlint.com

The online companion to your favorite class.

Tuesday, September 26

 

  • Heat vs temperature
  • Thermometry & measuring temperature
  • Conversion of temperatures

 

Wednesday, September 27

 

  • Linear expansion basics
  • Coefficient of linear expansion
  • Volume expansion formula
  • Practical applications - bridge design, expansion joints, etc.

 

Thursday, September 28

 

  • Linear Expansion of Metals Lab intro.
  • Conduct experiment

 

Friday, September 29

 

  • P. 346; 1, 3, 10–12, 14 due
  • Put problems on board and go over problems together

 

Monday, October 2

 

  • P. 346; 18, 20, 21, 25 due
  • Put problems on board and go over problems together

 

Tuesday, October 3

 

  • Linear Expansion of Metals Lab due
  • Gas law basics – Avogadro's Law, Ideal Gas Law, derivations of other gas laws

 

Wednesday, October 4

 

  • Kinetic molecular theory
  • RMS velocity of gas particles
  • KE of molecules and total KE of sample

 

Thursday, October 5

 

  • Energy in gases demonstrations and example problems

 

Friday, October 6

 

  • Gas

 

Monday, October 9 - No class - Teacher Inservice

 

Tuesday, October 10

 

  • P.

 

Wednesday, October 11

 

  • P. 348; 45–47, 52–53, 57 due
  • Methods of heat transfer

 

Thursday, October 12

 

  • Degrees of freedom of motion for molecules
  • Compare individual and total kinetic energies for molecules of water in boiling pot to air in oven
  • High specific heat of water
  • Units of specific heat.

 

Friday, October 13

 

  • Chapter 10 Test

AP Physics 2 - Chapter 10

Heat & Temperature

Unit Outline with Standards

This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.